PDA

View Full Version : Very frustrating Kickstarter experience... so far.

HCKPro
09-14-2013, 05:03 PM
Hey everyone, HCK here from Studio Happy Chicken...

We have a great project going, one that's been two years in the making. It's a video game "game show" of sorts pitting Japanese idols against retro video games in a contest of prizes or "punishments". Crazy, wacky stuff that could only be made in Japan.... so I guess it's a good thing that we're in Japan.

This project was a massive undertaking to bring all the right parts together, and I made sure that we had the go ahead from game companies and talent agencies before we started the campaign so that everything was on the up-and-up. I work in the entertainment industry in Tokyo so that made things a bit easier; but it's still difficult to get Japanese people to trust non-Japanese people in the corporate world over here.

Word of mouth has been extremely slow on this one. EXTREMELY slow. See, beyond having around 60 Facebook friends (people who are actually my friends) I am not a social networking beast. I don't go to forums, I don't use Twitter... I move in very small circles, and that has hurt our campaign.

None of the major gaming news websites that I've reached out to on multiple occasions have had any interest in talking abut our campaign. Forums kick me off for trying to start discussions about the project, calling me SPAM, even though I actively engage other posters. I've even been banned from sites for just trying to get the word out.

Like I mentioned above, this isn't a pie-in-the-sky kind of idea. We have all the players in place and we're actually ready to shoot... we just need the funds.

Any advice would be very helpful.

Charlie Maib, aka HCK

MatthewJHanson
09-15-2013, 01:59 PM
Most forums have rules about if, where, and how, aloud to post about Kickstarter campaigns. You want to make sure to research this before posting anywhere.