PDA

View Full Version : I don't have a country. I have been traveling for over two years looking for one.

mojoyeah
10-15-2013, 12:15 PM
I don’t have a country.

I have been a silent refugee for two years now, traveling around looking for a home.

As a senior at Texas A&M University, I had to leave the US because of paperwork back home.

I returned to Saudi Arabia, where I was born and raised, only to find out I was not allowed to live there anymore.

I couldn’t go to my father’s country, Eritrea, because it is unsafe.

I would be forced into indefinite military conscription doing harsh slave labor.

I spent the past two years running from one place to another just to get by.

My struggles helped me understand the hardship the less fortunate go through

but at the same time I learned to love and accept people everywhere I traveled.

I realized my purpose.

I want to bring people around the world together, through music, by showing how similar we all are.

I am going to travel the world and make a documentary showing how music connects people and breaks down barriers.

Now, let's talk business:

I want to crowdfund for my project in December. I have 50 days or so until then and to be honest I feel completely lost. I have been blogging for about three months now. I have received a lot of traffic and some supportive comments but I don't have a community or an interactive following. This is understandable considering I'm talking about a project I haven't even started. I have nothing to show people yet.

I would appreciate some advice on things I can do to improve my chances of raising my target goal. I need 15,000 USD to survive the first year on minimal living. It's my goal to become self sufficient and establish myself on Youtube during the first 12 months to where online viewership starts paying for my journey after that.