PDA

View Full Version : MEAD (honey wine) My Kickstarter project: Our winery's first run of 4,000 bottles

torvald
09-08-2012, 11:54 PM
Hello everyone,

My project is here: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/2074864012/vanaheim-gold-our-first-honey-wine-mead-production

I am Torvald Adolphson. I have been making mead in my kitchen for 10 years. In October of 2010, to celebrate the birth of my son, Alex, I decided to go forward into my own winery (or, meadery, to be specific). After $30,000 of my own family funding, I am very close to completing this goal and being fully licensed to sell my product. But, as in all things driven by economics, I am coming up short right at the end and I am trying so very hard not to get a lending institution's hook in my mouth.

Over the last two years, I have brought an 8'x40' shipping container onto my property and have finished out the inside and put a decent high-pitch roof on top to serve as my meadmaking "office". Though it is a bit small for being a big man, I have all the room I need to reach my business plan's "step one" goal of 12,000 bottles of product per year. However, just starting out, my immediate goal is to produce 4,000 bottles of my label, a traditional mead wine known as Vanaheim Gold.