PDA

View Full Version : The Hoppy Dwarf Brewing Company

Brandon Wilkinson
09-11-2012, 06:45 PM

My name is Brandon Wilkinson, and I have been homebrewing for two years, volunteering at a local brewery when I have time, and I currently work a second job at a craft beer retailer. I am soaking up as much information as I can from brewers, distributors, and retailers in order to launch my own microbrewery startup.

Besides being a Beer Geek, I am a gamer and fantasy/scifi geek as well. I work an IT job by day, and over many years my other geeky interests have included online RPG computer games, dungeons and dragons, performing in community theatre, and I have a large library of fantasy and sci-fi novels, and comic books. So geeks are my people.

There are many of us geeks in this country and beyond. In the metro-Atlanta area where I live and work, our city hosts one of the largest Fantasy/Sci-fi conventions in the country: DragonCon! Last year there were 45,000 of us in attendance. Around the world there are millions of people who hold subscriptions for fantasy games such as World of Warcraft; last year Blizzard Entertainment boasted 10.3 million subscribers for this one computer game alone. An estimated 20 million people worldwide have played the Dungeons and Dragons roleplaying game since it was created in 1977. The three films in the Lord of the Rings trilogy brought fantasy geekery into the mainstream, the last one racking up $377,027,325 at the box office. That is the purchasing power of people who are drawn to these mythic themes of fellowship, adventure, self-sacrifice, and heroism.

And they are all very, very thirsty.