Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Author and Producer Michael Coorlim's Avatar

Patreon for Authors

I'm an author and I joined Patreon a while back. I've actually got two different accounts, and I'll be starting a third, because I have three very different sort of projects.

I've got one for my books.

I've got one for a weekly web serial that I run.

I'm going to set one up for the video web series that my production company is producing, but that's not really germane to this thread.

The patreon I've set up to support my authorship is effectively a way for readers to subscribe to my output. For $3 a title they get an ebook sent to them; for $15 I'll mail out a paperback. They're charged on completion and I send the reward out right away.

I've seen other authors instead allow people to donate by word-count, per 10,000 words (~40 pages). Maybe that's a more efficient way to run it, because so far I've got nothing. I make enough as an author that it's my full time job, so I'm going to assume that this is just a failure on my part to make the Patreon campaign enticing enough.

I probably just don't "get" it.

My other campaign, the one for the web serial, offers a similar deal; pay me every time a story arc concludes, and I'll send you the ebook or paperback collection for that arc.

That one definitely needs to be rethought.

Anyone else use Patreon as an author? What have you tried? What success have you seen?
    Michael Coorlim | Author | Producer at Burning Brigid Media | @mcoorlim

Wow this is good stuff! Thanks for all the great information, I appreciate it!

very good stuff. Thanks for this new information.

I like the look of Patreon, but want to try a lead in through a KS and then Patreon. I also have to suss out those bleedin tax forms for non US folk.